oneyearinithaca

at Cornell University

Packing, the list and some tips

Well, everybody, who has ever packed his luggage in his life knows how difficult it can be. As an experienced traveler – with at least 29 plane and train trips in the last 5 years in addition to moving to a country other than my native one -, I think that one mustn’t forget two crucial elements when starting to pack.

First, and one of my former classmates, R. told me: do not forget that you can buy everything at your destination, so do not pack huge amounts of things. This quote isn’t applicable for some Lost destinations, but it is worth to remember in most of the cases.

Second, packing is a process in which you have to imagine every possible and likely situation which can happen to you during the trip. So bringing with you a little black dress, or a decent shirt is highly advisable. (All right, I do not speak about a mountain hiking trip.)

Every day many-many luggage get lost. If you have the habit of traveling, just be sure that it will happen to you too. So better pack one pair of socks, underpants, a T-shirt/shirt and a pullover in your carry-on pack. It saved my in-law-family-meeting once.

Let’s see what I am putting right now in my luggage knowing that I will come back to Europe in four months, and that my beloved one will drop me some items in two months, so I don’t have to pack everything at the same time.

Image (source: http://www.freebeautytips.org/travel-tips.html)

The list is consists of:

Clothes:

  • enough socks, underpants and bras for 10 days
  • some stocking (one grey, one black and one red)
  • 1 little black dress
  • 1 summer dress (can be combined with a cardigan/pullover, with a thick stocking and with boots in autumn)
  • 2 skirts
  • 2 trousers
  • 3 cardigans (different colors)
  • 5 pullovers (different colors)
  • 2 swimwear
  • 11 shirts (nice ones and basic ones)
  • 5 blouse
  • 3 scarfs
  • 1 pair of sandals
  • 1 pair of city-shoes
  • 1 pair of ballerinas
  • 1 pair of slippers
  • two bags ( a fancy little one and a normal, daily one)
  • no jeans, I can buy as many as I want in the States

Toiletries

  • a little bottle of shampoo (one dose)
  • two little pieces of soap
  • some mascara
  • 2 razors
  • a toothbrush
  • toothpaste
  • a daily cream for face
  • a tube of cream for lips
  • tampons
  • 1 deodorant
  • 1 hairbrush
  • rubber rings and barrettes

Other

  • One notebook
  • some pens and pencils of different colors
  • a little sewing package
  • 1 roll of toilet paper
  • 2 textile bag for shopping and carrying and stocking
  • some basic medicament
  • some jewelery
  • a little pair of scissors
  • an adapter
  • chargers for my notebook, my camera and my phone
  • 2 pen-drives for stocking everything related to my research
  • some books difficult to find and closely related to my research
  • a camera
  • a mobile phone
  • money
  • my ID cards
  • a calendar
  • no guidebook, that one I can buy at the connection airport so it won’t count in the weight limit
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

